Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: what do i need to publish a game?  (Read 3987 times)

leonziyo

• View Profile
what do i need to publish a game?
« on: August 12, 2011, 04:02:53 am »
hi guys I'm about to finish a game that I've been working for the past few weeks it is a pretty basic game, I didn't use any framework, it was purely made using SFML, all the graphics where made by me, it does not has sound, and I'm not planning on including any sound material. Now, I would like to publish it to get a little bit of feedback from the public, but I'm not sure how to publish it i want to let you guys know i am pretty new in the field of programing, actually this is the second game I'm gonna be developing and I have about 7 months of experience with c++ and well I'm learning everything from the internet. Back to the point what do i need to publish it??? is it OK if i just upload it? or do i need some sort of license ?? any help will be appreciated.

now do i need to include a read-me file or something like that if so, how can i create one i mean i have no idea what is is suppose to be in a read-me file but I've seen that all game usually have one.

keyforge

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2011, 05:12:20 pm »
Hello!

Some of the options you have are uploading it to Surgeforce or a site like Github. People love to read source code! You can put a license on the game and source code so people won't steal it, but they can read it for educational value. If the project is very complete and nice you can put it on Steam for free or sale under the Indie section, but you have to get accepted in to Steam. Not sure how helpful my post is, since I don't have much experience with publishing... but for a pretty basic game I would just put it on Surgeforce.
Need a place to upload your code, files or screenshots? Use SFML Uploads!

MorleyDev

• "It is not enough for code to work."
    • View Profile