Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Fission - A simple, object-component based game engine  (Read 13603 times)

foobarbaz

• View Profile
Re: Fission - A simple, object-component based game engine
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2013, 08:29:26 pm »
Nexus, thanks for the detailed feedback! You sound like a pretty picky coder ;) I will definitely do that stuff this weekend. Here I was feeling like the hot-shot freshman who codes circles around all the seniors, but I guess I have a long way to go :)

By not making all the managers to singletons, you allow other uses. I don't see why they need to be a singleton, the alleged convenience has many disadvantages, which are not necessary with a clean design.

I've definitely been going back an forth with the singleton design for the Managers - the problem became more evident when I started coding a scene editor. Could the Game class be a singleton to access all of the managers?

I am in favor of this idea. If you want other people to use your code (and it's awesome that you do!) then you have to work hard at making it clear how it works.

I think there is a lot of cool stuff in Fission, and I'm still going through it to see how it works. Thanks again for sharing with us.

Yeah, I've been thinking about that. I need to go through and add comments for Doxygen, which I've never used before :0 And thanks! Means a lot :)

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2013, 05:55:42 pm »
You didn't :P, in presence of Nexus any post that is traceable to manual memory management(and especially bugs in it) is derailed by definition.
Meanwhile I at least point to the RAII thread, instead of explaining everything again and again. :P