Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML2 not working on GeForce  (Read 3213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« on: October 20, 2011, 12:20:57 pm »
Hi Guys (and girls?)

I have a problem. I am developing for a new platform which has a GeForce 4MX video chipset (like a info kiosk kind of machine).

When I try and run an SFML application, the program runs, but the windows are not visible. You can Alt+Tab and see the window(s) icon, but when selected, they do not appear.

The system is running XP Embedded with opengl32.dll version 5.1.2600.2180

I have another kiosk system with the same version of XP Embedded (and OpenGL dll), but uses an ATI Radeon video card instead, and that all works fine.

I downloaded an OpenGL benchmarking app which runs fine, also, so I guess the problem is in SFML somewhere :(

Any ideas??

Thanks
Ed
SFML 2.1

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 12:32:07 pm »
Here's the output from the benchmark app with supported extensions:

-OpenGL-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Version: 1.5.4
Renderer: GeForce4 MX Integrated GPU/AGP/SSE/3DNOW!
Extensions: GL_ARB_imaging GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_point_sprite
            GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_texture_compression
            GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
            GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
            GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_ARB_vertex_program
            GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_ARB_window_pos GL_S3_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add
            GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract
            GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_Cg_shader
            GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays
            GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_paletted_texture GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object
            GL_EXT_point_parameters GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_secondary_color
            GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
            GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_cube_map GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp
            GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
            GL_EXT_texture_lod GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_object GL_EXT_vertex_array
            GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_KTX_buffer_region
            GL_NV_blend_square GL_NV_fence GL_NV_fog_distance GL_NV_light_max_exponent
            GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil GL_NV_pixel_data_range GL_NV_point_sprite
            GL_NV_register_combiners GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_NV_texture_env_combine4
            GL_NV_texture_rectangle GL_NV_vertex_array_range GL_NV_vertex_array_range2
            GL_NV_vertex_program GL_NV_vertex_program1_1 GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
            GL_SGIS_multitexture GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_SUN_slice_accum GL_WIN_swap_hint
            WGL_EXT_swap_control
SFML 2.1

Weeve

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • C++ Programmer (Intermediate), 3D Artist (Skilled)
    • View Profile
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 03:00:07 pm »
you should probably contact someone higher up than the forums, if your sure thats the problem, most people on the forums probably cant even understand what your saying.
Long live rapid project development! -- Kestrel3D Game-Engine nearing completion

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32502
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2011, 03:09:17 pm »
Quote
you should probably contact someone higher up than the forums, if your sure thats the problem, most people on the forums probably cant even understand what your saying

There's no hidden SFML developer, everyone's on the forum ;)

Quote
When I try and run an SFML application, the program runs, but the windows are not visible.

Could you show your source code? Or does it happen with any program, even the tutorials or samples?

Have you got the latest version of your graphics drivers?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2011, 04:13:54 pm »
Hi Laurent

I haven't tested with any other SFML apps apart from my own (which all work on other systems). I can't compile the basic SFML 2 app, I just get stuff like this: msvcprt.lib(MSVCP100.dll) : error LNK2005: "public: class std::locale::facet * __thiscall std::locale::facet::_Decref(void)" (?_Decref@facet@locale@std@@QAEPAV123@XZ) already defined in sfml-system-s.lib(String.obj)

I can't change the drivers on the target system, there are thousands of these machines in use, so I am restricted to whatever they have now :(

Ed
SFML 2.1

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2011, 04:25:28 pm »
Right, I randomly downloaded someone else's SFML app (CosmoScroll, nice game!) which runs fine - but I don't know if it's SFML 1.6 or 2.0.
SFML 2.1

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32502
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2011, 04:30:15 pm »
Quote
Right, I randomly downloaded someone else's SFML app (CosmoScroll, nice game!) which runs fine - but I don't know if it's SFML 1.6 or 2.0.

Looking at their code, it's either 1.6 or an old 2.0.

Quote
I haven't tested with any other SFML apps apart from my own (which all work on other systems). I can't compile the basic SFML 2 app, I just get stuff like this: msvcprt.lib(MSVCP100.dll) : error LNK2005: "public: class std::locale::facet * __thiscall std::locale::facet::_Decref(void)" (?_Decref@facet@locale@std@@QAEPAV123@XZ) already defined in sfml-system-s.lib(String.obj)

How did you compile it? What CMake options did you use?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2011, 04:56:29 pm »
I used the same libraries as for my other proper app, just made a sandbox program.

They were compiled under MSVC 2010.

They are all static, and I have got SFML_STATIC in my preprocessor definitions. So it should, like my other programs, compile just fine...

Is there any chance you can send me a test SFML 2.0 app for Windows?
SFML 2.1

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32502
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2011, 05:10:19 pm »
Quote
I used the same libraries as for my other proper app, just made a sandbox program.

They were compiled under MSVC 2010.

But you used CMake right? Can you explain what you did, with more details please?

Quote
Is there any chance you can send me a test SFML 2.0 app for Windows?

I'd like to make these examples work, because:
- either your configuration is bad and needs to be fixed
- either there's a bug in SFML and it needs to be fixed
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2011, 05:15:04 pm »
Laurent, here's my CMake settings:

BUILD_DOC false
BUILD_EXAMPLES false
BUILD_SHARED_LIBS false
CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE Release
CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX C:/Program Files (x86)/SFML
GLEW_INCLUDE_PATH C:/SFML20_091011/extlibs/headers
GLEW_LIBRARY C:/SFML20_091011/extlibs/libs-msvc/x86/glew.lib
STATIC_STD_LIBS true

Current Generator: Visual Studio 10
SFML 2.1

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2011, 05:33:25 pm »
Laurent

I got the example program to compile (missing includes for Windows stuff), and it runs fine on my machine, but when put on the target system, it just exits immediately, and doesn't appear to even open a window.

So something is amiss!

Ed
SFML 2.1

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2011, 05:42:49 pm »
I think I might have found it. From Windows event viewer:

"The description for Event ID ( 26 ) in Source ( Application Popup ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: SFMLTest.exe - Unable To Locate Component, This application has failed to start because MSVCR100.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem. ."

Oddly, this should have thrown a SideBySide error (surely??), which is a dead give away, but instead it just fails silently.

So, set my SFML test app to use the "Multi-threaded /MT" runtime library, and it WORKS.

But this is not the same problem I have with my own app. My own app runs, but I get no graphics or audio, or window appear :(
SFML 2.1

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32502
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2011, 05:44:07 pm »
Quote
it just exits immediately, and doesn't appear to even open a window

You should do some debugging, or at least log everything that you do in your app. The reason could be anythin: DLL missing, loaded resource not there, ... any error not explicitely handled.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2011, 06:35:33 pm »
Yes, it is VERY bizarre.

Loading resources seems to take a long time (8 seconds for 4x 1.5mb PNGs) so there is clearly something not right. Nothing fails - I have very comprehensive logging for all resource loading.

I am very suspicious that maybe the GeForce 4MX has some maximum texture size (but I keep to 2048x2048).
SFML 2.1

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32502
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML2 not working on GeForce
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2011, 06:37:19 pm »
But do you know where it stops?

EDIT sorry, I missed your other message. So now it works but you don't see anything, right?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

 

anything