Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Distributing SFML games on other websites.  (Read 18848 times)

Viruses

• View Profile
Distributing SFML games on other websites.
« on: December 29, 2011, 10:57:04 pm »
So how do you distribute games over the web that you make in SFML? And do the SFML dlls have to go with the package because then people would know i made it in SFML which would mean they could modify it by some way.. and also the dlls take up alot of more memory and then the game itself with the assets all take up a lot of mb just for a flash game.. And could i earn money by advertising in my game? Im a noob in this kind of stuff..

Nexus

• SFML Team
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Distributing SFML games on other websites.
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 12:30:42 am »
Quote from: "Viruses"
So how do you distribute games over the web that you make in SFML?
Look at the Projects forum...

And do the SFML dlls have to go with the package
When you link dynamically, yes (unless the player has exactly the same version of the DLLs).

because then people would know i made it in SFML which would mean they could modify it by some way..
Huh? Where did you hear that?

and also the dlls take up alot of more memory and then the game itself with the assets all take up a lot of mb
If you compress a game, its size should be acceptable to download and install.

just for a flash game..
I thought you talked about C++?
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Distributing SFML games on other websites.
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 10:27:55 am »
And do the SFML dlls have to go with the package

Additionally you can link the SFML library staticly, so you won't have any DLLs to ship with, although your game itself will have an incresed size.