Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite  (Read 4409 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

YellowShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • AOL Instant Messenger - ehwatsupdoc21
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« on: January 05, 2009, 07:07:32 am »
Hey guys,

I'm following this tutorial http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/1.3/graphics-sprite.php. I literally copy-pasted the code and changed the line that loads the image to the path of my own image.

Every time I run the "game" my GPU fan starts to spin really fast and the temperature of the video-card goes to the 100's (Celsius).

Is this a bug or am I writing code in a wrong way?

Here are my specs for my GPU (According to GPU-Z):
ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series - My Video Card
Driver Version: ati2mtag 6.14.10.6879 (Catalyst 8.11) / XP

If anyone can help that would be great!

Thanks,
YellowShadow

Kingdom of Fish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 07:53:29 am »
Does this only happen when you run this code or other times when you use accelerated graphics?

YellowShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • AOL Instant Messenger - ehwatsupdoc21
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 08:22:28 am »
Quote from: "Kingdom of Fish"
Does this only happen when you run this code or other times when you use accelerated graphics?


What do you mean by "other times when you use accelerated graphics"? Like when I'm playing another game or what?

Edit: Just updated to the latest driver for my card, and the problem is still there.

Wizzard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 08:35:15 am »
I assume that your video card melted when it ran at 100°C? :roll:

It's fine for most cards to run at 100°F while taking advantage of the graphics pipeline. :wink:

YellowShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • AOL Instant Messenger - ehwatsupdoc21
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 08:39:00 am »
Quote from: "Wizzard"
I assume that your video card melted when it ran at 100°C? :roll:

It's fine for most cards to run at 100°F while taking advantage of the graphics pipeline. :wink:


See I know its normal for that, but I don't know why its only my code. I just ran Tanktris and I got the same values as I did when my system was in IDLE state.

Aval

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2009, 11:57:44 am »
I don't know how, but Tanktris is magical. I have chronic errors I can't solve, and they run it perfectly.

YellowShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • AOL Instant Messenger - ehwatsupdoc21
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2009, 10:59:25 pm »
Just ran other examples and I get the same problem.

Anyone know whats up?

Avency

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 12:24:57 pm »
The examples don't limit the framerate and as a single sprite is almost nothing for a modern GPU, you get a very high framerate that causes your GPU temperature to increase.

To solve the problems, you can try to:

1. set a framerate limit (sf::RenderWindow::SetFramerateLimit)
2. enable vertical synchronization (sf::RenderWindow::UseVerticalSync)
3. write your own framelimiting code (sf::Sleep)

I hope that helps.

YellowShadow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • AOL Instant Messenger - ehwatsupdoc21
    • View Profile
Loud Fan Noise When Drawing Sprite
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2009, 06:57:20 pm »
Quote from: "Avency"
The examples don't limit the framerate and as a single sprite is almost nothing for a modern GPU, you get a very high framerate that causes your GPU temperature to increase.

To solve the problems, you can try to:

1. set a framerate limit (sf::RenderWindow::SetFramerateLimit)
2. enable vertical synchronization (sf::RenderWindow::UseVerticalSync)
3. write your own framelimiting code (sf::Sleep)

I hope that helps.


Avency: Thank you so much for helping me out with this. Everything works perfectly.

Thanks so much :)