Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Please help me understand sf::Event  (Read 1690 times)

Raptor88

• View Profile
    • Email
Please help me understand sf::Event
« on: July 27, 2012, 11:31:57 am »
I'm just learning C++ and SFML so please be gentle  :).

The code listed below are excerpts from a SFML game tutorial that's posted on youtube.
The "while ( App.IsOpened() )" statement appears to be the game loop.
Just below that is the statement:  "sf::Event event;"

MY QUESTION:
Isn't the statement "sf::Event event;" creating an instance of the "Event" class?
If that's true, what prevents thousands of instances of "event" being created due to the while loop, like a huge memory leak?

Thanks,
Raptor

// Some include statements here.

// Some initialization statements here.

WorldBase *TargetWorld;

sf::RenderWindow App;

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
  App.Create(sf::VideoMode( .... too long to type....);

TargetWorld = new LevelWorld();

while ( App.IsOpened() )
  {
     sf::Event event;
     while (App.PollEvent(event) )
     {
        TargetWorld -> input (event);
        switch (event.Type)
        {
            case sf::Event::Closed:
               App.Close();
               break;

case // some more code here not pertinent to my question.

break;
         }
     }
  }
  return 0;
}

i514x

• View Profile
Re: Please help me understand sf::Event
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2012, 11:34:55 am »
Dude, if a variable is created within the loop (in the brackets) after the next iteration, it is destroyed.

Do:
{ int Variable = 5; }
std::cout << Variable;
Will give you error because Variable will not exist.

Acrobat

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2012, 12:39:51 pm »
When you write something like :