Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Multiple windows on multiple monitors  (Read 2381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Qix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • I am Qix!
    • View Profile
    • Natoga Technologies
Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« on: September 20, 2012, 02:32:05 pm »
Extending upon this thread, assuming the program doesn't worry about programmatically positioning the window or getting sizes or resizing the window off the screen, won't multiple windows, one on each monitor, work just fine as long as the user positions/resizes them manually?
~ Qix
Creator of Rippl Studio
Code: [Select]
<danharibo> iostream: I don't do enough drugs to think that's a good idea.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 02:33:20 pm »
Why not?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Qix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • I am Qix!
    • View Profile
    • Natoga Technologies
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 02:37:11 pm »
Why not?

Just what I wanted to hear. Would supporting doing this using code (reliably) be a platform-specific endeavor? It is on your list of things to do, by any chance? While it isn't a huge inconvenience, it'd be nice to be able to restore a user's window placements upon startup.
~ Qix
Creator of Rippl Studio
Code: [Select]
<danharibo> iostream: I don't do enough drugs to think that's a good idea.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10827
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2012, 02:53:41 pm »
SFML can only create windows on the default monitor,) and it's not the easiest part to port for all platforms.
Can't you get the window position and reset it, or is the window position relative to each monitor?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2012, 03:04:35 pm »
Multi-monitor support is on the todo list, but it's not a high priority task. But I think you can do what you want with the current API, windows can be moved/resize programmatically independently of the monitor they are "attached" to.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2012, 03:06:13 pm by Laurent »
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Qix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • I am Qix!
    • View Profile
    • Natoga Technologies
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2012, 03:05:05 pm »
SFML can only create windows on the default monitor,) and it's not the easiest part to port for all platforms.
Can't you get the window position and reset it, or is the window position relative to each monitor?

That's what I'm curious about; does getting the position of the window work even when it's off of the default monitor? i.e. does it return negative coordinates for windows that are on monitors configured to the left of the default?

Multi-monitor support is on the todo list, but it's not a high priority task.

As long as it's on the list to get done. I can understand full-screen applications on multiple monitors being tricky, but just basic window functions shouldn't be too hard.
~ Qix
Creator of Rippl Studio
Code: [Select]
<danharibo> iostream: I don't do enough drugs to think that's a good idea.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2012, 03:06:50 pm »
Windows positions are relative to the desktop, so it has nothing to do with monitors in fact.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Qix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • I am Qix!
    • View Profile
    • Natoga Technologies
Re: Multiple windows on multiple monitors
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2012, 03:09:47 pm »
Ah, so the coordinates will be valid I'm assuming.

I'm being a posterchild-noob and asking before I've tested. I'll get to that point in my code and see exactly how it works.
~ Qix
Creator of Rippl Studio
Code: [Select]
<danharibo> iostream: I don't do enough drugs to think that's a good idea.

 

anything