Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: C# and SFML for OS X (and iPhone)  (Read 6871 times)

Andrej Vojtas

• View Profile
C# and SFML for OS X (and iPhone)
« on: January 19, 2009, 03:46:32 pm »
Hi,

I'm a game designer and artist, not much of a programmer so please bear with me.
Maybe one day you will have a great game to play for helping this confused guy out :)

I'm solving the common indie question: how to cover the most interesting platforms for small creative games.
For my project its OS X, PC, XBox Community Games, iPhone

PC/XBCG: I would like to use XNA = write my game logic code in C# (lots of RPG AI) to create my game for PC and XBox Community Games.
Just basic 2D static graphics + particles.

OS X: Is it possible to use the game logic code in C# and use SFML for the graphics and audio to make an OSX version? How difficult would it be?
iPhone: I read in the feature that SFML plans to support more platforms in the future.
Is it probable that iPhone will be supported in summer 2010? Could a similar port be made: game logic in C# + SFML?

I appreciate your answers and welcome any new insights and solutions I'm not aware of.

Tank

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • Blog
    • Email
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 04:12:31 pm »
Hi and welcome to the forums.

Regarding to your question: generally yes. It's a thing called abstraction. That means you completely separate any graphics and sound functionality in separate modules, thus allowing you to replace them easily. You just have to define an interface which applies to all of these modules.

An example of that is the MVC pattern (try it on Google, should give you some pointers).

Generally it's always possible to use SFML for rendering and playing sounds/music, as long as SFML is compatible with the proper platform. These are currently Windows, Linux and OSX.

Andrej Vojtas

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 10:41:06 pm »
Thank you.