Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Problems with .Draw  (Read 2655 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Bonafide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Problems with .Draw
« on: February 08, 2009, 05:12:45 am »
Hey guys,

I'm having a bit of trouble with a bit of code:

Code: [Select]

//Scroll through level and display corresponding image of til
for(int y = 0; y < 10; y++)
{
for(int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
{
cout << level[y][x];
if(level[y][x] == 0)
{
blockTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(blockTile);
}
else if(level[y][x] == 1)
{
groundTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(groundTile);
}


The problem? It won't display any tiles. I have made a checker outside of the for loop to see if level[y]
  • was indeed outputing 0's and 1's (and it was), and if I check inside the posted for-loop, [y]
  • does equal 0 or 1, so I don't have a clue why the argument "if level[y]
  • == 0 or 1" is not working! if I have "num = level[y]
  • ," cout << num outputs a 48 or 49.


If I were to comment the if/else arguments out (shown below), it works perfectly!

Code: [Select]

//Scroll through level and display corresponding image of til
for(int y = 0; y < 10; y++)
{
for(int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
{
cout << level[y][x];
//if(level[y][x] == 0)
//{
blockTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(blockTile);
//}
//else if(level[y][x] == 1)
//{
groundTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(groundTile);
//}
}
}


What could be causing the if arguments to not work?

Edit:
If I change the argument for block tiles to "if num equals 48," it works. If I change the argument for  ground tiles to "if num equals 49," it works. What's going on here?

Daazku

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 896
    • View Profile
Problems with .Draw
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 05:30:29 pm »
Yout are probably the one to blade :P.

I need more code to see what going on...
Pensez à mettre le tag [Résolu] une fois la réponse à votre question trouvée.
Remember to add the tag [Solved] when you got an answer to your question.

Bonafide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Problems with .Draw
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2009, 06:36:35 pm »
Here's the full code, sorry if it's a bit messy:

Code: [Select]

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
#include <SFML/Window.hpp>
#include <SFML/System.hpp>
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>

using namespace sf;
using namespace std;


int main()
{
///////////////////////////////BEGIN LOAD FUNCTION///////////////////////////////////

//Read *filename
//Char array "LEVEL" that will store the integers of file
char level[10][10];

//Read textfle (2D char array made up of a series of integers/letters)
ifstream file("level.txt");

//Store the array into a "temp holder" called tileNum
std::string line;

int height = 0;

while(std::getline(file, line))
{

for(int width = 0; width < 10; width++)
{
level[height][width] = line.at(width);
}
height++;
}

//Close file stream
file.close();

for(int y = 0; y < 10; y++)
{
for(int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
{
cout << level[y][x];
}
cout << endl;
}


/////////////////////////////END LOAD FUNCTION//////////////////////////////////////
///*
/////////////////////////////BEGIN DISPLAY FUNCION//////////////////////////////////

//Display using SFML
//Render Window
sf::RenderWindow App(sf::VideoMode(800, 600, 32), "The CodeWarrior");

//Create image
sf::Image blockImage;
sf::Image groundImage;

if(!blockImage.LoadFromFile("blocks.jpg"))
{
return EXIT_FAILURE;
}

if(!groundImage.LoadFromFile("ground.jpg"))
{
return EXIT_FAILURE;
}

//Create Sprite
sf::Sprite blockTile(blockImage);
sf::Sprite groundTile(groundImage);

//Game loop
while (App.IsOpened())
{
sf::Event Event;
while(App.GetEvent(Event))
{
if(Event.Type == sf::Event::Closed)
{
App.Close();
}
}

//Clear window
App.Clear();

int num;

//Scroll through level and display corresponding image of tile
for(int y = 0; y < 10; y++)
{
for(int x = 0; x < 10; x++)
{
cout << level[y][x] << "LEVEL"; //Test to see what level[y][x] is outputting
cout << endl;
num = level[y][x];
cout << "LOL" << num << "LOL"; // Test to see what num is outputting
cout << endl;

if(num == 48)
{
blockTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(blockTile);
}
else if(num == 49)
{
groundTile.SetPosition(x*32, y*32);
App.Draw(groundTile);
}
}
}


//Display sprites
App.Display();
}
return EXIT_SUCCESS;
//*/
}

Astrof

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Problems with .Draw
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2009, 07:45:30 pm »
48 is the ASCII code for 0, 49 is the ASCII code for 1.  so you're probably using chars?  '0' and '1'

Bonafide

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Problems with .Draw
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2009, 09:34:08 pm »
Bah, never thought of setting it to "if equal '0' and '1'," which turned out to be the problem.

Thanks for the help!