Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Which Python binding to use  (Read 5143 times)

RobertArk

• View Profile
Which Python binding to use
« on: April 08, 2013, 02:37:26 am »
Hi, I am a high school teacher. I teach Python and C++. I want to teach making simple video games using SFML's python binding. But I noticed there are 2 versions based on SFML2. Which one is recommended?

python-sfml (http://python-sfml.org/index.html)
pysfml-cython (http://pysfml2-cython.readthedocs.org/en/latest/)

I have tried to build both. I was successful with the second one (bastienleonard) version. But I have problems building the first one (Sonkun). Here is my info

CentOS 6.4 x86_64
gcc-4.4.7
Python 2.6.6
cmake-2.8.4
Cython-0.17.1

(the setup.py file uses dict comprehension which is 2.7+ feature, so I edited the file

#   sources = {k: v.replace('cpp', 'pyx') for k, v in sources.items()}
    sources = dict([(k, v.replace('cpp', 'pyx')) for k, v in sources.items()])

#files = {root: [os.path.join(root, fname) for fname in fnames] for root, dirs, fnames in os.walk('include')}
files = dict([(root, [os.path.join(root, fname) for fname in fnames]) for root, dirs, fnames in os.walk('include')])

but I get the following error

$python setup.py build
running build
running build_py
creating build/lib.linux-x86_64-2.6
creating build/lib.linux-x86_64-2.6/sfml
copying src/sfml/__init__.py -> build/lib.linux-x86_64-2.6/sfml
running build_ext
skipping 'src/sfml/system.cpp' Cython extension (up-to-date)
building 'sfml.system' extension