Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Problems with the Debug libraries  (Read 2427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vengefulwings

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Problems with the Debug libraries
« on: April 17, 2009, 12:24:42 am »
I've been using the Window , Graphics and System libraries in release mode for a few days now creating and manipulating sprites to make a simple game.

However I am unable to get the debug version of the llibraries working giving me some debugging problems obviously.

I've tried all the methods in the tutorial and for the release mode I have
sfml-system-s.lib sfml-graphics-s.lib sfml-window-s.lib in the linker settings addtional dependencies option. which works fine.

But moving onto debug mode I change to the debug libraries which are
sfml-system-s-d.lib sfml-graphics-s-d.lib sfml-window-s-d.lib.

But its having none of it. I'm sure its something silly I've missed sorry if thats the case.

I'm using VS 2008 and I know the tutorial for setting up SFML on VS was based on using 2005. Is there anything else needed to get it to work in debug mode with VS2008?

This is also on Vista if that makes a difference.

Thanks for any help

vpoqol5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Problems with the Debug libraries
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 12:06:32 pm »
You're probably using wrong version with wrong settings
If you want to use debug libraries you have to set your compiler to debug (then it will automatically make needed changes)

For instance,

Project->Properties->Configuration Manager -> Configuration >> Debug
and then down in Linker -> Input you should get

sfml-main-d.lib
sfml-window-s-d.lib
sfml-system-s-d.lib

and if you change it to Release you should get

sfml-main.lib
sfml-system-s.lib
sfml-window-s.lib

Hope it help,

Cheers

vengefulwings

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Problems with the Debug libraries
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2009, 02:06:33 pm »
The compiler is set to debug and i've tried to link to the debug libraries but it won't play cricket.

ahh well thanks for your help i'll just struggle by in release mode.

 

anything