Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: A Simple and Easy to Use State Manager  (Read 3479 times)

Furkanzmc

• View Profile
A Simple and Easy to Use State Manager
« on: March 18, 2014, 09:27:57 am »
Hello people.
I've written a simple, yet efficient, state manager. I'm relatively new to game development so I'm trying to learn as much as I can by creating as much as I can. I'm hoping it could do some good to some of you.
Here's the code: https://github.com/Furkanzmc/FUStateManager
« Last Edit: March 18, 2014, 09:32:48 am by Furkanzmc »

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: A Simple and Easy to Use State Manager
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2014, 10:17:44 am »
Cool! :)

Here a few points you might want to think about:

Your mixing of iterating over the states and std::find_if is flawed (afaik). You go through all states, then std::find_if will return the first occurrence where getDrawOverOtherStates() returns true for the given iterator till the end of the map. So if we have the following list where each digit represents the function return value: 10001100
Thus the iteration of std::find if would work like this:
Not sure if that made sense, but what I'm trying to point out is, that you do too many iterations for nothing. You could use find_if and a while loop on its own, without having to iterate over all elements additionally.

A std::map has a function empty(), thus it would be more expressive to use that instead of site() == 0.

Is a std::shared_ptr needed? Shouldn't the state manager be the full owner of the state? If so, you might want to use std::unique_ptr.

get/setDrawOverOthers(States) is quite a long name and the "draw" is a bit misleading since it also applies for updating and event handling. Thus you might want to find something shorter and more precise.