Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: And again another Asteroids clone  (Read 3733 times)

elwydd

• View Profile
And again another Asteroids clone
« on: May 05, 2014, 06:44:39 pm »
Hello community, I'm a student from Switzerland, and we've to program a game in groups. We decided to program an Asteroids.

All what I know about C++ I learned while programming this game, so please be kind. :)

So right know most of it is running very smoothly but sometimes I get small lag spikes (100ms). As far as my measurements are correct they happen in the codelines where I draw the asteroids the background and the spaceship. The problem is I don't know why :)

I'm using the 2.1 sfml library which has the framerate limit. This one works fine but I'm not sure if its a clean way to have a stable clock for the whole system.

I'm not sure how I should upload the code that you can look at the code. I would be very happy if someone could look at it and give me some tips how I could improve the whole project.

At the moment there is no sound, no menu and so on (and no collision detection for the spaceship -that i can test the other parts of the project-) but this will all get into the project till June.

And now here is a video

I know the bullets are sound symbols "shhh"

I hope you understand my English :)

Geheim

• View Profile
    • Email
Re: And again another Asteroids clone
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 07:16:54 pm »
Welcome to the forum!

The video looks good and I really like how you implemented the collision between the asteroids, maybe you could also put the weights into account, so it does look more realistic when they bounc of?

As for the lag spikes I couldn't see any and without any code we have no idea what could probably cause such an issue.
Are you using the elapsed time to update your stuff, or do you just use the frame limit? If you only use the frame limit, this could be a possible reason for your problem ;)