Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Help with Static Build  (Read 5340 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Help with Static Build
« on: October 08, 2014, 12:58:11 am »
I've followed Compiling SFML with CMake tut step by step.. and I and create a Dynamic lib.. but I can't create static libs..



My Errors when I compile the static build:
(click to show/hide)
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10936
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: Help with Static Build
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 10:00:02 am »
Update your VS and CMake install and make sure to build from a clean code base (no cached CMake files).
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 07:42:13 pm »
My VS2013 has the latest update.. and I did a reinstall of cMake.. when I got to run cMake it still has the same setting... How do you delete the cached? (I'm not finding a complete answer to this on the web)
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 07:58:05 pm »
Simply delete the directory where CMake stores all the temporary files. This should not be the same as the source directory, where you have CMakeLists.txt! If it is, clear everything and redownload SFML, preferably the latest version from GitHub.
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2014, 08:16:09 pm »
where would that be?
C:\Program Files (x86)\CMake ?
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10936
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2014, 09:56:47 pm »
No, where you've built SFML.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 12:28:33 am »
Is that why I keep getting the same error every time I redo the whole build?

Well I deleted everything and did it all from scratch.. I still can't build the STATIC libs..
when I open the INSTALL.. in the solution manager it shows
sfml-audio(failed to load)
sfml-graphics(failed to load)
sfml-main
sfml-network(failed to load)
sfml-systems
sfml-windows(failed to load)
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 01:01:56 am by Sanction »
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10936
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 08:26:15 am »
There has been an issue popping up every now and then with VS and CMake, but so far it could always be solved by updating VS and CMake and we could never figure out the original cause. The issue manifests in CMake generating broken VS project files.
Personally I only use NMake and don't use project files anymore. If you don't want to go that way, you might want to use my Nightly Build then, which includes dynamic and static libraries as well as static libraries with the static runtime lib.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 08:52:13 pm »
Alright I will give it a shot Thanks a lot!
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

Sanction

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: Help with Static Build
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2014, 09:38:06 am »
Okay so I got my book in the mail today so I decided to give static build another shot.
I started with fresh Project and I'm using your Nightly Build(SFML-Visual_Studio2013x32)

*now I also tried including the dll files even with static build*
*I have no problem setting up Dynamically so that is what I'm resorting too in the mean time*

Linker | Input: Debug config
sfml-system-s-d.lib
sfml-window-s-d.lib
sfml-graphics-s-d.lib
sfml-network-s-d.lib
sfml-audio-s-d.lib

Linker | Input: Release config
sfml-system-s.lib
sfml-window-s.lib
sfml-graphics-s.lib
sfml-network-s.lib
sfml-audio-s.lib

My Errors: LNK2019: unresolved external symbol ..
(click to show/hide)
Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers. It may not be difficult to store up in the mind a vast quantity of facts within a comparatively short time, but the ability to form judgments requires the severe discipline of hard work and the tempering heat of experience and maturity.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10936
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: Help with Static Build
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2014, 10:04:40 am »
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/