Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?  (Read 5821 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« on: November 01, 2014, 10:57:56 am »
Using C++ and after commenting out the line my program stopped increasing in memory by 4kb every second?  With it uncommented it would consistently increase in memory every 4kb which is pretty nuts to me.  This happened using C# too, but I thought it was just my shitty coding that was the issue.  Thought I'd check memory usage with SFML before I got into my game and bam noticed that and I'm not sure if that's normal?

Nothing special in my code:

void Game::run()
{
        //initialize window
        window.create(VideoMode(width, height), name);

        //set framerate
        //window.setFramerateLimit(60);

        //load assets
        loadAssets();

        //game loop
        loop();
}

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 11:43:37 am »
Provide a minimal and complete example.
Also make sure you use the latest master.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2014, 08:27:52 pm »
Went to: https://github.com/SFML/SFML downloaded source configured it using CMake for VS12 '13.  Build the project.  Setup a new project w/ the new libraries and dll's (release build type), using the included folder from the master and everything built correctly, no errors.  Memory for the the .exe file when ran goes up by 4kb every second with the framelimit option set.  OS: Win764, using 32bit compile though.  Comment out the line and it doesn't increase at all.

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main()
{

        sf::RenderWindow win = sf::RenderWindow(sf::VideoMode(400, 400), "Mem Leak");
        win.setFramerateLimit(60);

        while (win.isOpen())
        {
                sf::Event event;
                while (win.pollEvent(event))
                {
                        if (event.type == sf::Event::Closed) {
                                win.close();
                        }
                }

                win.clear(sf::Color::Black);
                win.display();
        }

        return 0;
}

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2014, 08:36:19 pm »
Things you can try:
- replace window.display() with sf::sleep(sf::milliseconds(10))
- remove window.display()

I can tell you for sure that this code does not leak in SFML. It's usually a driver issue, and the above suggestions should confirm it.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2014, 08:43:09 pm »
Things you can try:
- replace window.display() with sf::sleep(sf::milliseconds(10))
- remove window.display()

I can tell you for sure that this code does not leak in SFML. It's usually a driver issue, and the above suggestions should confirm it.

Hmm, still happens and only happens when I uncomment the win.setFrameLimit(60); line.  Going to reinstall my drivers for my gtx 770, but I doubt it's drivers because I sent the files to a buddy and he noticed it increasing too.  I noticed this originally when I used to write using the C# bindings months ago and didn't think anything of it, but yeah now using C++ it's happening.  I'll report back after reinstalling these graphics drivers.

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2014, 08:51:50 pm »
Yep nothing has changed.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2014, 09:40:33 pm »
You can take a look at the implementation of setFramerateLimit, as long as sf::sleep doesn't leak nothing will leak.
So you tested sf::sleep?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: AW: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2014, 09:49:00 pm »
You can take a look at the implementation of setFramerateLimit, as long as sf::sleep doesn't leak nothing will leak.
So you tested sf::sleep?

Built it again, leaks.

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main()
{

        sf::RenderWindow win = sf::RenderWindow(sf::VideoMode(400, 400), "Mem Leak");

        while (win.isOpen())
        {
                sf::Event event;
                while (win.pollEvent(event))
                {
                        if (event.type == sf::Event::Closed) {
                                win.close();
                        }
                }

                win.clear(sf::Color::Black);
                win.display();
                sf::sleep(sf::milliseconds(10));
        }

        return 0;
}

Edit:

So the above leaks with win clear/win display and sleep.  If I remove sleep with just win clear/display nothing leaks, if it's just display by itself, it leaks and if it's clear/win display + framelimit it leaks and it leaks

Edit to make the above more clear:

- having just sleep where the window clear/display code is doesn't leak.
- adding the window clear/display back leaks
- removing the sleep function with just window clear and display doesn't leak
- adding setframelimit with the window clear and display leaks
- having just the window.display leaks
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 10:12:55 pm by Lamonte »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2014, 10:15:41 pm »
So does this "leak"?

#include <SFML/System.hpp>

int main()
{
    while(true)
    {
        sf::sleep(sf::milliseconds(16));
    }
}

You said it would increase 4 KiB every second or so, how do you track that? Does it only go up?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2014, 10:26:10 pm »
So does this "leak"?

#include <SFML/System.hpp>

int main()
{
    while(true)
    {
        sf::sleep(sf::milliseconds(16));
    }
}

You said it would increase 4 KiB every second or so, how do you track that? Does it only go up?

No that doesn't leak and how I tracked it?  I watched my windows task manager memory usage increase.  The app's default memory usage would be at like 14,000K then increase by 00,004 K every second.  Now the above does not leak at all it sits at 688K and doesn't move ever.  As I mentioned above it only leaked when I had setframelimit set combined w/ the clear+display window functions or it would leak when I had the sf sleep function combined with the display/clear window functions.  having display/clear window functions without either of those the memory usage would set and sit at the amount it initiated when the application started up.  So yeah combining either of those (framelimit/sleep) with window.clear and window.display gives me a leak.  Having either set without each other does nothing just so happens to leak when paired together.
« Last Edit: November 01, 2014, 10:33:13 pm by Lamonte »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2014, 10:31:24 pm »
The Windows Task Manager isn't really a useful way to track memory usage. There are a lot of dedicated tools which will not only tell you, if there indeed is a leak, but will also pin point you directly to the code bits which leak.

If it increases 4KiB every second, how far up have you watched it? Does it stop at one point? Does the memory usage drop again at one point?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #11 on: November 01, 2014, 10:36:48 pm »
It never stops, I've watched it increase above 2MB before I realized that shouldn't happen and stopped watching it.  Basically like I said above, it increases consistently only when window.clear+display is used with sleep or setframelimit, it doesn't happen when you use either of those without each other.

You also said it's not a reliable way to track memory usage, sure, only problem is the pattern hasn't changed lol.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10822
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2014, 10:40:17 pm »
I said, it's not a useful way, since you get zero information on the leak, if it even is a leak.
As I said, get a dedicated tool and figure out where the issue originates from.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Lamonte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2014, 10:51:05 pm »
I said, it's not a useful way, since you get zero information on the leak, if it even is a leak.
As I said, get a dedicated tool and figure out where the issue originates from.

What's a good tool to use?

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Re: Does setframelimit have a memory leak in 2.1?
« Reply #14 on: November 01, 2014, 10:54:23 pm »
So, without win.display(), there's no combination that leaks? It doesn't make sense, because all setFramerateLimit does is to add a call to sf::sleep inside Window::display(). So if it's not the "OpenGL" part of display which leaks, nor sf::sleep, there's nothing else in Window::display() that can leak.

Can you try to find a simple OpenGL program, and check if it leaks too? It can be a pure WGL/Win32 program, or one that uses SDL 2, GLFW, FreeGlut, or whatever.

Don't waste too much time tracking the "leak" with tools, I'm 100% sure that it comes from the driver. Check my suggestions first.

And try to reduce your program more: is the event loop needed to produce the leak? Is win.clear() needed?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

 

anything