Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML with no sound hardware  (Read 5749 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
SFML with no sound hardware
« on: November 11, 2014, 04:08:11 pm »
Hi

OK, another crazy problem. I have a whole load of 2nd hand rack servers coming my way which I'll be using to do automated play-testing of games. Don't ask why...it's a long and painful story :(

Anyway, these units have no sound hardware at all. Starting the game will result in a crash as soon as sounds are initialised. So, how can I stop this happening?

Many Thanks
SFML 2.1

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2014, 04:16:18 pm »
Have you found out where they crash exactly?

What are your options regarding the choice of SFML versions?
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2014, 04:32:30 pm »
It crashes when trying to create a new sf::Music instance. Plugging in some USB sound hardware fixes it, but that's not an option for a rack of 20 machines :D

We are using quite an old version of SFML (09/10/2011!) but will be updating to the latest in Jan 2015.
Such is legacy support for applications...
SFML 2.1

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10801
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2014, 04:52:36 pm »
By "where they crash exactly" I suppose Nexus meant, if you have a stack trace when the application crashes. :D
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2014, 05:08:01 pm »
Yeah that's kind of the problem, I can't get a stack trace from this unit - it's not got any development tools on it, it is literally just a rack server PC running W7 Pro 64 bit, with a Radeon 5850 and that really is it.
SFML 2.1

Jesper Juhl

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2014, 05:11:14 pm »
Why dont you then either install a debugger on the machine or configure Windows to write a minidump when the app crashes that you can then inspect in a debugger on your normal dev machine?

Nexus

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Thor Developer
    • View Profile
    • Bromeon
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2014, 05:12:50 pm »
I assume you're not able to change the source code so that it doesn't use music for testing purposes?

And if you can't change the SFML version before January, I don't see how we could possibly help... Even if we wrote a workaround, you couldn't make use of it. Not to mention the amount of experimenting it takes (including debugging), and the difficulty (impossibility?) to reproduce that problem on our machines :-\
Zloxx II: action platformer
Thor Library: particle systems, animations, dot products, ...
SFML Game Development:

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10801
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2014, 05:16:13 pm »
I'm not sure, but maybe there are something like dummy drivers, so the server thinks it has an audio device, but it in fact doesn't?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

binary1248

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
  • I am awesome.
    • View Profile
    • The server that really shouldn't be running
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2014, 05:20:02 pm »
Sounds like an OpenAL context couldn't be created and when we try to call any function it just segfaults (basically same like calling an uninitialized GL extension). Like the others have said, if you can't make any changes to the environment it's going to be hard to fix the problem. The easiest "solution" I can think of that doesn't involve altering the environment is to create stub classes with the same interface as the audio classes and switch them out with a TEST_WITHOUT_SOUND flag if you really have to test on those machines often.
SFGUI # SFNUL # GLS # Wyrm <- Why do I waste my time on such a useless project? Because I am awesome (first meaning).

slotdev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
    • View Profile
Re: SFML with no sound hardware
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2014, 09:16:31 am »
Thanks for all the advice guys, some real help there :) I'm going to try and install a dummy audio device first and see what happens, if not, then I'll try stubbing out the sf::Audio stuff.

Thanks!
SFML 2.1