Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [SFML 2.1] No window created  (Read 2419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ambromied

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
[SFML 2.1] No window created
« on: December 03, 2014, 11:31:11 pm »
Hello.

I'm new to SFML.
I tried to compile the example code from the library setup tutorial.
(click to show/hide)

Everything compiled, as expected.
The process was created as well,  with 2kiB memory assigned.
However, the window hasn't showed up.

It's not like the window never shows up. If I start one process and I leave it running (without window), then I start another instance of the program, the window often shows up (though not always).
Running the program through debugger however makes the window appear every time.
I read a few posts in the internet stating that it was an old SFML 1.6 issue, related with AMD drivers,  that had been fixed in SFML 2.0 but, as I wrote in post title, I am using SFML 2.1.
Is this my graphics card's fault?

Here is the link to the DxDiag content.

Ixrec

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [SFML 2.1] No window created
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2014, 11:36:02 pm »
When something this simple fails, it's probably a configuration issue, ie you made a mistake somewhere in the tutorial.  If debug/release mode affects it, that means configuration is almost certainly part of the problem.

Start over from scratch, and follow each step of the tutorial very carefully.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11030
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: [SFML 2.1] No window created
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2014, 11:40:44 pm »
Hard to tell what the issue could be. Might be some configuration issues as Ixrec said.
Might also be helpful if you told us what compiler you use.

Regardless you might want to update your graphics driver; you're on 13.x, while the latest version is at 14.9.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

ambromied

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [SFML 2.1] No window created
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2014, 11:49:37 pm »
Redone all configuration and everything stays the same.
Also, the same program works perfectly fine on the other computer, so I will try updating the drivers and will report back.

EDIT: The compiler I use is GNU GCC Compiler, downloaded along with the Code Blocks 13.12 IDE.
EDIT2: Updating the drivers didn't help as well. The program works (or refuses to work) as it used to.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 12:17:11 am by ambromied »

BeautiCode

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: [SFML 2.1] No window created
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2014, 01:12:04 am »
Do you have the required DLLs in the output folder?
And if you're compiling debug, did you include a "-d" at the end of the file names?

ambromied

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [SFML 2.1] No window created
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2014, 12:25:27 pm »
I am using static libraries. Yes, I remembered about -s-d suffix for each file linked.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 12:58:12 pm by ambromied »