Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Parallels Tools breaks SFML  (Read 3131 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

austinmw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« on: July 17, 2015, 12:54:21 am »
So I created a clean VM of Xubuntu 14.04.2 in Parallels 10.2.1 and I got SFML working properly with sudo apt-get install libsfml-dev. Then I rebooted and made sure it still worked, and after that the only thing I did was install Parallels Tools. Now when I try to run my sfml-app by command line or through Codeblocks I get the error message:

X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
  Major opcode of failed request:  1 (X_CreateWindow)
  Serial number of failed request:  74
  Current serial number in output stream:  75

Anyone know how Parallels Tools could be causing SFML to malfunction or how to fix this? I can't find anything online about compatibility issues between the two.

binary1248

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
  • I am awesome.
    • View Profile
    • The server that really shouldn't be running
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 10:47:48 am »
Virtualization was never supported by SFML. If it works, then that's great, if it doesn't then too bad. Using virtualization software that doesn't have a large user base doesn't make it better. Nobody has done this before, so nobody knows what is happening, and logically, you won't find anything on the internet regarding this matter. You are on your own in this case.

Just develop on your host system. It can't be that hard.
SFGUI # SFNUL # GLS # Wyrm <- Why do I waste my time on such a useless project? Because I am awesome (first meaning).

austinmw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 09:28:24 pm »
The programs I write for class have to compile in Codeblocks for Xubuntu though and using it without Parallels Tools copy/paste, drag/drop, etc. is a huge pain. I realize that it's not officially supported, I was just wondering if anyone else came across this or understood the error message better to know if I might be able to patch or edit a config file or something to fix it.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2015, 09:31:00 pm by austinmw »

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11032
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 09:36:39 pm »
You can always try different virtualization software such as Virtualbox or similar.

Plus if you were "just wondering", you should be a bit more patient and wait instead of posting the same thing to three different locations. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

austinmw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2015, 09:50:00 pm »
Sorry, I know the pool of people who've used Parallels with SFML is probably small and I wanted to maximize the possibility that someone who ran across the same issue might see it. I'll try VirtualBox, just wish I could get it working with Parallels since I paid for it and VB lacks retina support  :( Ah well.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11032
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2015, 09:52:20 pm »
How much did you try solving the issue on your own?
What does Google tell about the error message?
What if you set break points and debug things?
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

austinmw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2015, 11:24:37 pm »
-Spent hours.
-There's a lot about BadMatch invalid parameter attributes and X_CreateWindow, but not specifically with my scenario and most of it is way above my head.
-Yep, tried:

int main() {
    sf::RenderWindow app(sf::VideoMode(800, 600), "SFML window");}

I still get the same error with just this.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2015, 11:55:27 pm by austinmw »

austinmw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Parallels Tools breaks SFML
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2015, 12:14:43 am »
Well I fixed it somehow with a lot of luck. I replaced:

    sf::RenderWindow app(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768), "SFML window");

with:

    sf::VideoMode desktop =  sf::VideoMode::getDesktopMode();
    sf::RenderWindow app(sf::VideoMode(1024, 768, desktop.bitsPerPixel), "SFML window");