Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Tennis Pong!  (Read 4135 times)

namu

• View Profile
    • manudz.com
Tennis Pong!
« on: February 04, 2016, 11:07:56 am »
Hello everyone! I will like to share with you my first game with SFML: Tennis Pong!. My intention is to start creating classic games (15 puzzle, Snake, Arkanoid, Asteroids...) to adquire a good basis on SFML and C++ and later on create my own games.
Because it's just a Pong game I'm posting it here because I don't think it deserves its own thread, but I like to share the result.

Features:
  • 1 vs CPU mode.
  • 1 vs 1 mode.
  • 3 difficulties in both modes: Beginner, Intermediate and Expert. The ball have different speeds and in 1 vs CPU mode the AI racket have different speeds too.
  • The entire art of the game is made by me (except for the main background)   ;D. I'm a programmer and I'm learning pixel art as a hobby.
  • Effect applied to the ball simulating height (i.e: it's bigger when ritches  the center of the field). Also added a shadow.
  • Chiptune music (by Jredd) and sound from Mario Tennis of Wii U.
  • Doesn't have Pause button but if the screen loses the focus it plays a sound of pause and the rackets and the ball are not updated. And if you press Escape while playing it quits to main menu.
  • I'm not very happy with the UI but it's something I will improve for future projects, although I kinda like the main screen (not the instructions) and the Digital Scoreboard in game  :D

Controls:
  • Menu navigation: Arrows and Enter (it isn't mouse interactive)
  • Player 1: W - up / A - down
  • Player 2: O - up / L - down
  • In Game: if you play Escape will go back directly to Main Menu

Things that suck / Future improvements:
  • Collision detection with the rackets, especially with the top/bottom of it.
  • UI and Screen Management. It's functional but it's something I would like to improve to be more easy to implement and mantain