Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: .exe not working on Windows 7  (Read 6471 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« on: December 31, 2009, 07:17:46 pm »
Hi,

My release build executable isn't working on windows 7. I'm building on a windows XP using visual studio 2008 with the "Multi-threaded (/MT)" option and "SFML_DYNAMIC" as preprocessor command.
I put the sfml .dll's in the folder as well as the images I am using, and it works on this machine.

I am sure it should work on Windows 7, what should I try? Running in compatibility mode didn't work. Should I recompile SFML from source?

Happy newyear!

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2009, 07:38:29 pm »
Are both OSes 32 or 64 bits?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Dolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2009, 07:46:09 pm »
My windows XP ( where I build ) is 32, the windows 7 is 64 bit.

Edit: I now tried with the static version of SFML and with a redistributable of visual studio 2008 ( I tried both x86 and x64 ), and still doesn't work.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2010, 02:20:39 am »
32-bits binaries don't work on 64-bits architectures.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

Dravere

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2010, 03:11:06 am »
Quote from: "Laurent"
32-bits binaries don't work on 64-bits architectures.

I run a lot of 32 bit programs on my 64 bit machine and they work with no problem ;)
As long as you have an AMD64 architecture (note, even if there is AMD in the name, Intel uses it too, but names it Intel 64) you won't have problems running 32 bit binaries. Everything changes when you have an IA64 architecture, because there is no backward compability. But more or less all 64 bit desktops uses AMD64.

And there is also another problem, 64 bit binaries won't work with 32 bit binaries and vice versa.

Dravere

Thiziri

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2010, 12:29:07 pm »
But I've no problem to run a 32 bits SFML program on my 64 bits Windows Seven  :?

Dolf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2010, 02:46:00 pm »
Quote from: "thiziri"
But I've no problem to run a 32 bits SFML program on my 64 bits Windows Seven  :?


Can you tell me your compiler options and libraries you linked against?

And ye it's an AMD64.

The crazy thing is that it does work on a friends windows Vista.

Thiziri

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
.exe not working on Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2010, 03:36:14 pm »
I'm working on code::blocks release 8.02 with default compiler option and I linked dynamic SFML librairies.