Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How to use SFML without xcode on Mac?  (Read 13312 times)

AndreeU17

• View Profile
How to use SFML without xcode on Mac?
« on: March 16, 2017, 08:00:52 am »
I'm used to using IDEs and other software related tools. However, due to my previous computer science classes, i been enjoying using a simple text editor and a compiler.

So that been said im still relatively new to using the terminal (Mac Sierra OS).
How can i compile and link sfml to my main.cpp file?
any tips would be appreciated thanks.

I can compile a file and execute single files
g++ main.cpp -o main
./main

However, i dont know how to do it while having external Library

Turbine

• View Profile
Re: How to use SFML without xcode on Mac?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2017, 08:09:45 am »
You could use any of these on a Mac: Codeblocks, Eclipse C++ or CLion. There's a tutorial on using SFML in Codeblocks.

Which country are you studying Computer Science in?
« Last Edit: March 16, 2017, 08:11:31 am by Turbine »

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2017, 08:15:08 am »
You can have a look at the Linux tutorial for that.

But this is not specific to SFML, you'll have to do the same steps for any other library that you use, so you should rather read some good tutorial about the basics of gcc.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

AndreeU17

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2017, 05:26:48 pm »
You could use any of these on a Mac: Codeblocks, Eclipse C++ or CLion. There's a tutorial on using SFML in Codeblocks.

Which country are you studying Computer Science in?

Yeah but all those are IDEs, im trying to stay away from them. Im studying Computer Science in Portland, Oregon, USA.

AndreeU17

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2017, 05:27:40 pm »
You can have a look at the Linux tutorial for that.