Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"  (Read 5736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

klusark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« on: February 10, 2010, 01:12:12 am »
Im running SFML 2 revision 1395 on windows 7 x64 using msvc 2008. When the code below is run it outputs "Failed to activate the window's context". Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks.
Code: [Select]

#include <SFML/System.hpp>
#include <SFML/Window.hpp>

sf::Window *window;
bool good;

void ThreadFunc(void* data)
{
   sf::Context context; //Added this line
window->Create(sf::VideoMode(640,480), "test");
   window->SetActive(false); //Added this line
good = true;
while (1)
sf::Sleep(1);
}

int main()
{

good = false;
window = new sf::Window();
sf::Thread mythread(&ThreadFunc, NULL);
mythread.Launch();
while (!good)
sf::Sleep(0.001f);
sf::Context context;
window->SetActive(true);
mythread.Terminate();
delete window;
return 0;
}

Edit: updated the code with working code.

klusark

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 03:52:31 am »
Yes I am, I should be creating a context in the second thread and then doing SetActive(false). I have updated my first post with a working example for anyone else that has this problem.

mattlic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2010, 04:00:07 pm »
I got the same problem this morning, I solved it by creating a useless context in the thread. (SFML2 on linux rev 1545)

I guess this is due to this function:

Code: [Select]

bool GlContext::SetActive(bool active)
{
    if (active)
    {
        // Activate the context
        if (MakeCurrent())
        {
            // If this is the first context to be activated on this thread, make
            // it the reference context for the whole thread
            if (!threadContext)
                threadContext = this;

            return true;
        }
    }
    else
    {
        // Deactivate the context
        if (threadContext && (threadContext != this))
        {
            // To deactivate the context, we actually activate another one
            // so that we make sure that there is always an active context
            // for subsequent graphics operations
            return threadContext->SetActive(true);
        }
    }

    // If we got there then something failed
    return false;
}


Is there any other solution than creating a useless context (and make my application start slower)?

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2010, 07:26:05 pm »
It's not a problem, it's how SFML 2 work. You have to create an OpenGL context in threads other than the main one if no window is active. That's why the sf::Context class exists.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

mattlic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2010, 08:25:20 pm »
Quote
It's not a problem, it's how SFML 2 work. You have to create an OpenGL context in threads other than the main one if no window is active. That's why the sf::Context class exists.


My problem is that there is no thread (even the main one) that do not call window::SetActive. The two threads share the same context and use it.
I guess this design is not compatible with the library.


here is an example:

window is an sf::Window and global to the 2 thread.

Thread 1

t = 1 | window creation
t = 2 | window->SetActive(true);
t = 3 | opengl calls..
t = 4 | opengl calls..
t = 5 | window->SetActive(false);
t = 6 | some non graphic stuffs...
t = 7 | some non graphic stuffs...
t = 8 | some non graphic stuffs...
t = 9 | some non graphic stuffs...
t = 10| window->SetActive(true); with no dummy context in thread 2, this fails too.
t = 11| opengl calls..


Thread 2
t = 1 | need a dummy  context here.
t = 2 | some non graphic stuffs...  
t = 3 | some non graphic stuffs...  
t = 4 | some non graphic stuffs...  
t = 5 | some non graphic stuffs...  
t = 6 | window->SetActive(true);
t = 7 | opengl calls..
t = 8 | opengl calls..
t = 9 | window->SetActive(false); with no dummy context this fails
t = 10| some non graphic stuffs...
t = 11| some non graphic stuffs...

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2010, 10:30:49 pm »
Can you show me a complete and minimal source code that reproduces this problem?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

mattlic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
SFML 2: "Failed to activate the window's context"
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2010, 11:58:44 pm »
Sorry for the delay. In case you plan to fix this, here is the code:

Code: [Select]
#include <iostream>
#include <SFML/Window.hpp>
#include <X11/Xlib.h>

sf::Mutex mutex;

class EventLoopThread  : public sf::Thread
{
public:
  EventLoopThread(sf::Window* w)
    : win_(w)
  {
  }

private:
  void Run()
  {
    sf::Context context;
    sf::Event event;
    while (true)
    {
      mutex.Lock();
      std::cout << "[thread 1] display start" << std::endl;
      win_->SetActive(true);
      win_->Display();
      win_->SetActive(false);
      std::cout << "[thread 1] display end" << std::endl;

      mutex.Unlock();
    }
  }

  sf::Window* win_;
};

int main()
{
 sf::Window window(sf::VideoMode(100, 100), "SFML window");
 EventLoopThread th(&window);

 th.Launch();

 while (window.IsOpened())
 {
   mutex.Lock();

   std::cout << "[thread 0] display start" << std::endl;
   window.SetActive(true);
   window.Display();
   window.SetActive(false);
   std::cout << "[thread 0] display end" << std::endl;

   mutex.Unlock();


 }

}