Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Which language to use?  (Read 10356 times)

kolofsson

• View Profile
Which language to use?
« on: April 14, 2010, 02:44:32 pm »
Hello. I am a hobbyist programmer. I do not have academic programming knowledge, only the things I learned on my own.

I would like to write a 2D racing game of my own, and I really like SFML. However, there are many obstacles when I try to write it in C++. I lack the flexibility of PHP, I can't really grasp the whole low-level programming stuff, like memory management, pointers. Converting numbers to strings is a real pain in the ass.

I have heard about Python, although I do not know how to program in this language.

So I would like to have some advice from more advanced programmers. For a hobbyist programmer, who does not like to fiddle much with the source code to get things done, which programming language should I use? Are the SFML bindings fully functional? Or should I stick with C++?

Walker

• View Profile
Which language to use?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2010, 03:12:57 pm »
Firstly, I'm not formally educated in programming or anything similar.

I would really recommend C++ above the rest, I found parts of it ridiculous while I was learning the basics but now I am glad C++ is what I focused on.

I'm not a real fan of programming in Python, it can be a useful tool for scripting and automation, but I do view it as a tool rather than a "proper" programming language, I've never looked into the Python SFML binding.

I'm pretty sure the .NET binding is very close if not the same as the C++ one, if you are interested in a .NET language.

If you already are learning C++, I say stick with it.

Hopefully this is of some help and not just confusing :)

Converting numbers to strings pisses me off too lol :P

Laurent

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
Which language to use?
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2010, 03:32:27 pm »