Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: sf::RenderWindow::Clear() causing Unhandled exception  (Read 15821 times)

fazeli

• View Profile
sf::RenderWindow::Clear() causing Unhandled exception
« on: April 26, 2010, 10:44:06 pm »
(Complete beginner)

Trying to go through the tutorials, stuck on "Graphics - Using render windows" (http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/1.6/graphics-window.php).  It seems the App.Clear() and App.Clear(sf::Color(200, 0, 0)) are both causing

First-chance exception at 0x00434155 in SFML_GraphicsWindow.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x43960010.
Unhandled exception at 0x00434155 in SFML_GraphicsWindow.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x43960010.

After commenting out the App.Clear sections, the code runs without exception.

I've tried going through the source with the debugger but as I mentioned I am a beginner.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

nulloid

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 11:13:13 pm »
Could you show the code?

fazeli

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2010, 12:17:49 am »
Sorry my bad.  The code that was being used is the same as the one in the tutorial in this file http://sfml-dev.org/tutorials/1.6/sources/graphics-window.cpp.  I have included a copy here below stripped of comments.

#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>

int main() {
   sf::RenderWindow App(sf::VideoMode(800, 600, 32), "SFML Graphics");

while (App.IsOpened()) {
      sf::Event Event;
      while (App.GetEvent(Event)) {
         if (Event.Type == sf::Event::Closed)
            App.Close();

if (Event.Type == sf::Event::KeyPressed) {
            if (Event.Key.Code == sf::Key::Escape)
               App.Close();

if (Event.Key.Code == sf::Key::F1) {
               sf::Image Screen = App.Capture();
               Screen.SaveToFile("screenshot.jpg");
            }
         }
      }

App.Clear(sf::Color(200, 0, 0));

App.Display();
   }