Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.  (Read 1428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kami

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.
« on: September 11, 2019, 02:52:44 am »
I am trying to make a program for my dads birthday, and learn SFML and C++. I have made everyhting work, then I decided I wanted to make it so the balloons switch colours. I have followed some instructions, and now it doesnt work. here is the code I used https://pastebin.com/zHjpFZpD. I just made it so that one side currently switches, then Ill make the other side switch once it works.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10801
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 12:37:37 pm »
Can you describe what is not working? :)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

Kami

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2019, 06:24:37 am »
Well, It isn't switching the pictures from balloon 4 to balloon 2. I got another code using pointers and it works, but I implemented it into everything and now it doesnt switch the pics. Not on my pc at the moment, so I can't get the new code.

Arcade

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2019, 04:04:10 pm »
This looks to be where you're trying to toggle between different balloon sprites, but there are quite a few issues with it.

if (elapsed.asSeconds() <= 1){
            while (window.isOpen()) {
                activeSprite = (activeSprite == &balloon4Sprite ?
                    &balloon2Sprite :
                    &balloon4Sprite);
        }
    }
 

  • This is directly in your main function, not in your main "game loop".  You will only hit this if statement one time. You will presumably enter the if statement's body because the time elapsed will likely be under 1 second by this point.
  • After entering the body of the if statement you will be rapidly switching the sprite back and forth as fast as your CPU can go in the while loop, which is likely not what you want. It seems like you want the if statement to be inside your while loop, not the other way around.
  • You are never drawing the sprites and displaying the window between each time you toggle the sprite. You will therefore not see anything happen on screen.
  • You have two of these loops: while (window.isOpen()). You are only handling events and drawing things in the second one. You need combine the two loops into one.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2019, 04:27:42 pm by Arcade »

Kami

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: No errors, but the window doesnt load anything.
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2019, 04:32:12 pm »
I went to reddit first and posted here to be safe, but I am now using pointers and my phone to do it. See my reply above for more info