Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [SOLVED]sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed is not taking inputs.  (Read 3414 times)

Lauro

• View Profile
[SOLVED]sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed is not taking inputs.
« on: November 27, 2019, 11:00:46 am »
hello everybody, i am new in sfml so sorry if i may ask something silly.

i have this:
void GameLoop::loop() {

gameWindow.clear();
    sf::Event event{};

while(gameWindow.isOpen()){
        while (gameWindow.pollEvent(event)) {
            if (event.type == sf::Event::EventType::Closed)             //close window
                gameWindow.close();

//future events here

}

if(sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(sf::Keyboard::Up))
            playerUp = true;
        if(!(sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed(sf::Keyboard::Up)))
            playerUp = false;
        std::cout << playerUp << std::endl;

gameWindow.display();
    }
}

I am trying to modify playerUp that is a bool initialised as false in the constructor.
If i am not wrong, i should have understood that the difference between sf::Keyboard::isKeyPressed (as i am doing) and sf::Event::KeyPressed is that the first consider how long you press a key, while the second is only triggered when i press the key so i should handle with more code the fact that it it not released.
Considering that i want to keep the code clean I opted for isKeyPressed out of eventPoll loop.
when i launch the program this is the output:
We got a keyboard without any keys (1)
//there are only 0s 'till the end even though i press the key

I tried to use another key beside Up but with no result.
So, what does that message means? what am i doing wrong?

edit: Forgot to say i am using macOS, maybe this is something that have to be known for you to help me.

side question:
if i got it right sf:Event and sf::Keyboard should be part of Window.hpp, but i am not sure.