Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: How to use SFML in Qt project?  (Read 4498 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

krschnv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Email
How to use SFML in Qt project?
« on: July 19, 2021, 07:03:53 pm »
I found a way to connect SFML to the Qt Creator environment. I was already delighted, but then I tried to push code using both qt and sfml into the project and nothing worked. The fact is that in order to connect sfml to qt creator, you need to change the .pro file and move some directories with sfml files in directory of qt project. I wrote this in .pro file:

TEMPLATE = app
CONFIG -= qt
CONFIG += console

LIBS += -L/Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled/untitled/Contents/Frameworks/

CONFIG (release, debug|release): LIBS += -lsfml-audio -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-network -lsfml-window -lsfml-system
CONFIG (debug, debug|release): LIBS += -lsfml-audio -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-network -lsfml-window -lsfml-system

INCLUDEPATH += /Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled/
DEPENDPATH += /Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled/

It works, but I can't use qt in this project, because I removed all, what was in .pro file before. I tried to add this code after code, which already was in .pro file, but it still doesen't work. My OS – Mac OS Big Sur, SFML version – 2.1 (Clang), project created whith qmake.  If I remove first 3 lines of that code, compiler says that it can't find -lsfml-audio (library not found for -lsfml-audio), so problem in DEPENDPATH, but path is right! If I add that lines back compiler says, that  'QApplication' file not found, so I think it can't find Qt files. Here is whole code:

QT       += core gui

greaterThan(QT_MAJOR_VERSION, 4): QT += widgets

CONFIG += c++11

# You can make your code fail to compile if it uses deprecated APIs.
# In order to do so, uncomment the following line.
#DEFINES += QT_DISABLE_DEPRECATED_BEFORE=0x060000    # disables all the APIs deprecated before Qt 6.0.0

SOURCES += \
    main.cpp \
    mainwindow.cpp

HEADERS += \
    mainwindow.h

# Default rules for deployment.
qnx: target.path = /tmp/$${TARGET}/bin
else: unix:!android: target.path = /opt/$${TARGET}/bin
!isEmpty(target.path): INSTALLS += target

TEMPLATE = app
CONFIG -= qt
CONFIG += console
SOURCES += main.cpp

LIBS += -L/Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled2/untitled2/Contents/Frameworks/

CONFIG (release, debug|release): LIBS += -lsfml-audio -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-network -lsfml-window -lsfml-system
CONFIG (debug, debug|release): LIBS += -lsfml-audio -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-network -lsfml-window -lsfml-system

INCLUDEPATH += /Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled2/
DEPENDPATH += /Users/vladimirkorsunov/QtProjects/untitled2/


 Can I use both SFML and Qt in one window? Maybe it is impossible?  For example can I draw graphics via SFML and draw GUI via Qt? I saw only guid for using SFML in Qt Creator whithout Qt, but it's useless, because God gave me Xcode.

eXpl0it3r

  • SFML Team
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10815
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
Re: How to use SFML in Qt project?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2021, 11:47:26 am »
Are you trying to just use SFML in the Qt Creator or are you trying to integrate SFML into your Qt GUI?

For the first, it should be quite straight forward, by adding SFML like any other library.
Since Qt Creator supports it, I'd probably recommend going with a CMake project setup instead of a *.pro file.

If you want to integrate SFML into your Qt project, you'll need to create a special widget for that.
There are a bunch of examples out there already.
I think the most difficult part is how to deal with event handling, as both Qt and SFML will "consume" the events.
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php
Official Discord Server: https://discord.gg/nr4X7Fh
——————————————————————
Dev Blog: https://duerrenberger.dev/blog/

thebruce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: How to use SFML in Qt project?
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2022, 11:19:01 am »
In case anyone else stumbles upon this, I have taken the example from sfml 1.6 (https://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/1.6/graphics-qt.php) and updated it:

https://github.com/thebruce87m/sfml-in-qt

 

anything