Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Make image fill either vertical or horizontal space while keeping aspect ratio.  (Read 3847 times)

Zaper127

• View Profile
So I'm new to c++ and SMFL. I'm trying to set a background image and have it fill the window as much as possible to, filling either top to bottom or left to right depending on the image and window dimensions. I have tried that letter boxing wiki that shows up in all the searches, and serval other things.

With the View/letter boxing the image centers but doesn't scale. with my attempts I can get it to fill the width but won't maintain aspect ratio. Here are to two codes I've tried:

//Letterbox code always referred to on these forms
                sf::View getLetterboxView(sf::View view, sf::Vector2u windowSize) {

// Compares the aspect ratio of the window to the aspect ratio of the view,
                // and sets the view's viewport accordingly in order to archieve a letterbox effect.
                // A new view (with a new viewport set) is returned.

float windowRatio = (float)windowSize.x / windowSize.y;
                float viewRatio = (float)view.getSize().x / view.getSize().y;
                float sizeX = 1;
                float sizeY = 1;
                float posX = 0;
                float posY = 0;

bool horizontalSpacing = true;
                if (windowRatio < viewRatio) horizontalSpacing = false;

// If horizontalSpacing is true, the black bars will appear on the left and right side.
                // Otherwise, the black bars will appear on the top and bottom.

if (horizontalSpacing) {
                        sizeX = viewRatio / windowRatio;
                        posX = (1 - sizeX) / 2.f;
                }
                else {
                        sizeY = windowRatio / viewRatio;
                        posY = (1 - sizeY) / 2.f;
                }

view.setViewport(sf::FloatRect(posX, posY, sizeX, sizeY));

return view;