Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles  (Read 2076 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

roosterkin123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • MSN Messenger - rogerboy@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« on: September 13, 2010, 06:30:30 pm »
In catalyst 10.4 everything worked fine and window was created.
In catalyst 10.8 window does not start at all, just an empty process in the task manager happens.

Anyone else have this problem?
I want to know how to fix it? Maybe something to do with version numbers as I heard some older OpenGL games have troubles with the new ATI drivers.

I am using windows 7 and 5970 gfx card.

Lupinius

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 07:05:08 pm »
Do you get any error messages on the console?

roosterkin123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • MSN Messenger - rogerboy@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 08:04:18 pm »
How do I check the console with sfml2?
I have a windows application
How can I output std::cerr to file?

roosterkin123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • MSN Messenger - rogerboy@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2010, 10:54:05 pm »
Hi, I still need help on this.

I got some progress, the audio module is working fine.

I tried to compile without using graphics module and visual studio works fine.

If I include the graphics module, visual studio will not run the exe at all.

I cant even get into main function.

This seems to be some conflict between the new catalyst drivers and the graphics module of sfml2

Svenstaro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2010, 07:10:24 am »
Can you get us a systrace of some kind? I'm not sure how exactly you'd do that on Windows but there probably is a way. Basically we need to know which syscall your process is getting stuck at.

I think I read that Laurent is aware of the issues with newer Catalysts.

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2010, 08:11:17 am »
Quote
I think I read that Laurent is aware of the issues with newer Catalysts.

Nop, I'm aware of a crash at exit with all Catalysts, but not of that.

It would be great to have other users' feedback.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

roosterkin123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • MSN Messenger - rogerboy@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2010, 07:35:45 pm »
You would never believe how I solved this thing.

I compiled the entire sfml2 into my project to avoid any kind of linking as a temporary solution. And it worked! have no idea why but some kind of dll or lib files were conflicting with ati driver dll's

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2010, 07:38:48 pm »
Yeah, I already knew that. Using the static versions of the SFML libraries should work too, there's no need to compile it inside your app.
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer

roosterkin123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • MSN Messenger - rogerboy@hotmail.co.uk
    • View Profile
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2010, 07:47:36 pm »
Well I tried static but it was giving me too much linker errors due to the fact that I use a lot of other dll based libraries

Laurent

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 32504
    • View Profile
    • SFML's website
    • Email
[Solved] sfml2 and catalyst 10.8 troubles
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2010, 08:54:55 pm »
Quote
Well I tried static but it was giving me too much linker errors due to the fact that I use a lot of other dll based libraries

The fact that you use other DLL libraries shouldn't change anything for SFML. What errors did you get?
Laurent Gomila - SFML developer