Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Kukatz 3D  (Read 5428 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Kukatz 3D
« on: May 10, 2012, 09:23:14 pm »
Hi everyone!

I would like to share with you my final project in my secondary school years.
It is a cross-platform three-dimensional snake clone, made with great help from SFML.
Also, I would like to hereby say very much thanks to Laurent for his work.

See the source and download the MinGW binaries (coming soon) from:
https://bitbucket.org/torokati44/kukatz-3d

As you can see, the GUI is fully in Hungarian, sorry for that.
I hope you might like it anyways, once you have managed to start a game. :)

Here are some screenshots:
http://imagerz.com/QEAXXEtvAwMHBFkZRwVQ
http://imagerz.com/QEAXXEtvAwMHBFkYEQVQ
http://imagerz.com/QEAXXEtvAwMHBFkYEAVQ
http://imagerz.com/QEAXXEtvAwMHBFkYEwVQ

CJ_COIMBRA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • ICQ Messenger - 13077864
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cjcoimbra.com
    • Email
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 02:10:47 pm »
As far as I could go the GUI looks good but I couldn´t find the "play". Maybe you could handle some translations here so we can find the right option!

I also did a snake clone with SFML for a college paper, but it was 2D.
CJ

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 06:57:23 pm »
Thanks for taking time to check it out, and I'm glad you liked it (at least the part you could try out :D).

Yes, it would be great if there were translations in the game, I might consider implementing it in the next couple of days weeks months (years).

In the meantime, you must first create profiles in the "Játékosok" (Players) menu.
Type in the "név" (name) of the player, select the "fej" (head style), the "típus" (type) of controlling ("ember"-human/"gép"-machine).
For human players, set the controls (bal-left, jobb-right, fel-up, le-down), for AI, select the skill level (ügyesség).

Then in the "Új Játék" (New Game) menu select the players from the left list to right with return, and start the game by selecting the last option.

I hope you will manage to try it out (if you still care...).

Ceylo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
    • View Profile
    • http://sfemovie.yalir.org/
    • Email
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 07:24:37 pm »
I tried to build it on Mac OS X but I get the following errors :/

Code: [Select]
resourcemanager.cpp:373:2: error: no matching function for call to 'glGetInfoLogARB'
        glGetInfoLogARB(vertex_shader, sizeof(compile_log), 0, compile_log);
        ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Headers/glext.h:3547:13: note: candidate function not viable: no known conversion from 'GLuint' (aka 'unsigned int') to
      'GLhandleARB' (aka 'void *') for 1st argument; take the address of the argument with &
extern void glGetInfoLogARB(GLhandleARB obj, GLsizei maxLength, GLsizei *length, GLcharARB *infoLog);
            ^
resourcemanager.cpp:435:2: error: no matching function for call to 'glGetInfoLogARB'
        glGetInfoLogARB(fragment_shader_anaglyph, sizeof(compile_log), 0, compile_log);
        ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Headers/glext.h:3547:13: note: candidate function not viable: no known conversion from 'GLuint' (aka 'unsigned int') to
      'GLhandleARB' (aka 'void *') for 1st argument; take the address of the argument with &
extern void glGetInfoLogARB(GLhandleARB obj, GLsizei maxLength, GLsizei *length, GLcharARB *infoLog);
            ^
resourcemanager.cpp:507:2: error: no matching function for call to 'glGetInfoLogARB'
        glGetInfoLogARB(fragment_shader_cross_eyed, sizeof(compile_log), 0, compile_log);
        ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
/System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Headers/glext.h:3547:13: note: candidate function not viable: no known conversion from 'GLuint' (aka 'unsigned int') to
      'GLhandleARB' (aka 'void *') for 1st argument; take the address of the argument with &
extern void glGetInfoLogARB(GLhandleARB obj, GLsizei maxLength, GLsizei *length, GLcharARB *infoLog);
            ^
3 errors generated.
Want to play movies in your SFML application? Check out sfeMovie!

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2012, 08:36:57 am »
I couldn't test it on Mac OS, since I don't have access to a Mac, so these kinds of errors are expected.

However, SFML claims it works on Macs, and as I see, these are only minor errors caused by one single function call, so it should be easy to fix. I will push a commit soon. Please try to build that version, too!

Thanks for your interest.

EDIT:
The fix is committed, please take a look at it now. Also, you will have to copy the resources.pak file next to the binary executable. I hope it will work now.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 08:52:06 am by torokati44 »

Ceylo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
    • View Profile
    • http://sfemovie.yalir.org/
    • Email
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2012, 02:17:55 pm »
Also note that I've had to modify opengl.hpp so that it looks that way:
Code: [Select]
#ifdef SFML_SYSTEM_WINDOWS
#include "GLee.h"
#else
#define GL_GLEXT_PROTOTYPES

#ifdef SFML_SYSTEM_MACOS
#include <OpenGL/gl.h>
#include <OpenGL/glext.h>
#else
#include <GL/gl.h>
#include <GL/glext.h>
#endif

#endif

#ifdef SFML_SYSTEM_MACOS
#include <OpenGL/glu.h>
#else
#include <GL/glu.h>
#endif

Now all of the source files in src build fine, going to try with the other files.


Edit : I got it running now, without any other modification. It's working fine but indeed it's quite hard to know what to do without (at least) an English translation (and quite slow to look at your previous post to check what each text means).
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 02:29:48 pm by Ceylo »
Want to play movies in your SFML application? Check out sfeMovie!

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2012, 03:50:32 pm »
Thanks for fixing it. I will add localization soon.

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2012, 11:19:29 pm »
There you go.

It is English now by default. The commit is pushed to BitBucket.
Also added a new download containing the new version binary in a zip archive.

Ceylo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
    • View Profile
    • http://sfemovie.yalir.org/
    • Email
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #8 on: May 13, 2012, 12:28:14 am »
You wrote Kredits instead of Credits. And I think an entry to go back to the main menu from each section would be useful.

Otherwise yeah it's immediately quite easier with English titles !!! Not that easy to go through a 3D world though, but it's just a matter of time :) . Good job!
Want to play movies in your SFML application? Check out sfeMovie!

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2012, 09:24:46 am »
KreditZ is intentional. :D

Of course, there is a lot of room for smaller and bigger improvements, but overall, I am proud of it.
If not for the gameplay (I hear exactly the same from a lot of people - it is difficult to navigate in), but for the underlaying techniques, the "engine" (especially the way animations work).

I might add new features and improve things in the feature, if I will have time and don't get bored.

Thanks for your time and testing.

Ceylo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2325
    • View Profile
    • http://sfemovie.yalir.org/
    • Email
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2012, 10:05:52 am »
KreditZ is intentional. :D

Oh, then it's ok!
And indeed you can be proud of it :D .
Want to play movies in your SFML application? Check out sfeMovie!

nulloid

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2012, 07:30:57 pm »
I've tried Kukatz (great name, btw... at first I thought it is almost too hungarian to be a coincidence... (I mean how many other languages out there that has a word similar to "kukac"?) :D). Great idea, and the implementation is good, too. Although I had troubles to get to the same level as the collectibles. Is it intentional?

Amúgy üdvözlet, és szép munka :D

torokati44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Kukatz 3D
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2012, 01:15:28 pm »
Köszönöm honfitárs! :D

I have planned several times to impement some kind of "minimap", "compass", or navigation helper to make it easier. So far none of them came into existence, as you can see. Still waiting for the "great idea" that would be greatly useful.
So no, it is not intentional, it's a gameplay flaw. But you can get used to it in a while, if you don't lose your interest... :D