Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Breakout Game  (Read 4904 times)

CodingNoob

• View Profile
Breakout Game
« on: May 30, 2012, 02:32:54 pm »
Hi. I am working on a project for my College assignment. It is due in 6 weeks, which would roughly be the 6th of July. I am pretty new to programming, I am using C++ and SFML 2.0. This is basically the game that i will be making if you haven't played it http://www.play.vg/games/10-Breakout.html minus a few of the features such as the changing size of the paddle I will not include unless I have time too. I will probably need a fair bit of help. I already having one issue where I am creating the ball but it is not printing to the screen. I assumed that window.draw(ball) would make it appear on the screen but it does not.

This is the code I have so far
#include <SFML/Graphics.hpp>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
        sf::Vector2f BallSize(4,4);

//Create ball
        sf::RectangleShape Ball;
        Ball.setSize(BallSize);
        Ball.setFillColor(sf::Color::Yellow);
        Ball.setOutlineColor(sf::Color::Blue);
        float x = 50;
        float y = 50;
        Ball.setOrigin(x,y);

//Create Blank window
        sf::RenderWindow window(sf::VideoMode(1024,720), "Breakout");
        while (window.isOpen())
    {

sf::Event event;
        while (window.pollEvent(event))
        {

if (event.type == sf::Event::Closed){
                                window.close();}
                        if (event.type == sf::Event::KeyReleased && event.key.code == sf::Keyboard::Escape)
                        { window.close();}

}

window.clear(sf::Color::Red);
                window.draw(Ball); // Shouldn't this make the ball appear???
                window.display();
    }

return 0;
}
I will be splitting it up into separate files obviously just I want to get the simple aspects of the game done before I do that.
Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.