Welcome, Guest. Please login or register. Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: [Question/Request(?)] Modular Spaceship  (Read 2115 times)

UchihaKite

• View Profile
    • Email
[Question/Request(?)] Modular Spaceship
« on: September 06, 2016, 03:00:52 pm »
Good morning SFML community! As I approach the end of my third C++ class and it is about time to customize my game to make it stand out from the rest! Since the game is asteroids, the idea came up to get a sprite sheet of a modular space ship, and allow the user to customize the space ship they are going to use in the game. Now, I've never done anything like this before, so I am used to having a single sprite, a single origin point, and thus allowing for easy manipulation of the "player". Does anyone have any ideas on how I should approach creating a modular space ship?

Thank you to anyone who takes the time to read this and to reply, I hope you all have a nice day!

eXpl0it3r

• SFML Team
    • View Profile
    • development blog
    • Email
AW: [Question/Request(?)] Modular Spaceship
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2016, 04:31:11 pm »
You could go with predefined origin or calculate a center point at ship creation. Additionally you'll want to write a function that either returns the bounds of the ship or checks collision with the ship's shape.

As for modules, you could just provide base ships with various slots that can be filled with different modules and once that works maybe allow slots on modules themselves. Just make sure that modules have actually some meaning otherwise it becomes a bit pointless. Additionally you could add module requirements for a ship, e.g. you need to have an engine module and a controll module or something like that.

Last but not least don't forget that suvh a module system can get very complex. So it's best to pick the smallest thing you could think of first and try to implement that. Don't try to get "the" system done. ;)
Official FAQ: https://www.sfml-dev.org/faq.php